top of page

Parvovirus 

What you need to know

Parvovirus is an extremely contagious and potentially fatal gastrointestinal illness.

 

Young dogs are most at risk because they have not yet been vaccinated against the virus. Puppies aged six weeks to six months are most susceptible, as are any dogs who are unvaccinated or incompletely vaccinated.

 

If your dog has parvovirus, you will generally start seeing signs three to ten days after exposure. Common symptoms include extreme lethargy, vomiting, diarrhea (usually bloody) and fever. 

 

The virus is highly contagious and is passed orally, generally from feces or infected soil. It can survive two months or more indoors or in soil, and is resistant to heat, cold, humidity and drought. Even trace amounts of feces from an infected dog may harbor the virus and infect other dogs. It is readily transmitted via the hair or feet of dogs or via contaminated cages, shoes, or other objects.

Parvo also lives in the feces of dogs who have had the illness for several weeks. Due to the strength and severity of the disease, it is important to make sure a dog that has had parvo is isolated from puppies or unvaccinated dogs.

 

It is incredibly important to get medical treatment as soon as possible if you suspect your dog has parvo. With appropriate and timely care, 70% to 90% of dogs with parvo will survive. Dogs are typically hospitalised for treatment, which includes IV fluids, anti-nausea medications and antibiotics. 

Contact us if you think your dog has been exposed to the virus.

bottom of page

top of page

Parvovirus 

Ce que vous devez savoir

Le parvovirus est une maladie gastro-intestinale extrêmement contagieuse et potentiellement mortelle.

Les jeunes chiens sont les plus exposés car ils n'ont pas encore été vaccinés contre le virus. Les chiots âgés de six semaines à six mois sont les plus sensibles, tout comme les chiens non vaccinés ou incomplètement vaccinés

 

Si votre chien est atteint de parvovirose, les premiers signes apparaissent généralement trois à dix jours après l'exposition. Les symptômes les plus courants sont une léthargie extrême, des vomissements, une diarrhée (généralement sanglante) et de la fièvre. 

 

Le virus est très contagieux et se transmet par voie orale, généralement à partir d'excréments ou de terre infectée. Il peut survivre deux mois ou plus à l'intérieur ou dans le sol et résiste à la chaleur, au froid, à l'humidité et à la sécheresse. Même des quantités infimes d'excréments provenant d'un chien infecté peuvent héberger le virus et infecter d'autres chiens. Il se transmet facilement par les poils ou les pieds des chiens ou par l'intermédiaire de cages, de chaussures ou d'autres objets contaminés.

Le virus Parvo vit également dans les excréments des chiens qui ont été malades pendant plusieurs semaines. En raison de la force et de la gravité de la maladie, il est important de s'assurer qu'un chien ayant contracté le parvo est isolé des chiots ou des chiens non vaccinés.

 

Il est extrêmement important d'obtenir un traitement médical dès que possible si vous pensez que votre chien est atteint de parvovirus. Avec des soins appropriés et rapides, 70 à 90 % des chiens atteints de parvovirus survivront. Les chiens sont généralement hospitalisés pour recevoir un traitement comprenant des fluides intraveineux, des médicaments anti-nauséeux et des antibiotiques.  

 

Contactez-nous si vous pensez que votre chien a été exposé au virus.

bottom of page