top of page

Canine Leishmaniosis

What you need to know

Leishmaniosis is a serious parasitic disease that can be fatal. The province of Essaouira is strongly impacted.

 

Leishmaniosis is a disease caused by protozoan parasites of the genus Leishmania and transmitted by the bites of female sandflies. Over 23 species of Leishmania have been described, most of which are zoonotic (transmitted to humans). The most important Leishmania parasite to affect dogs is L infantum.

 

Dogs are the primary reservoir host for human visceral Leishmaniosis caused by L infantum, and the disease is potentially fatal in dogs and humans. The symptoms of Leishmaniosis do not necessarily appear immediately after the dog is infected but on the contrary, sometimes months or even years later. 

 

Unfortunately, canine Leishmaniosis can be treated, but not cured. A dog suffering with Leishmaniosis must be regularly monitored by a veterinarian throughout his life. Appropriate treatment can only slow the progression of the disease, but not provide a cure.

Several signs can help you detect if your dog has unfortunately been infected with the disease: 

SKIN SIGNS - severe hair loss, especially around the eyes, skin irritation and inflammation. 

EYE SIGNS - the eyes may be affected by conjunctivitis, which results in red eyes and discharge.

PHYSICAL SIGNS - overall general fatigue and weight loss, even if  the dog's appetite remains intact.

 

Other symptoms can be observed such as nose bleeds and claws which grow abnormally quickly. 

bottom of page

top of page

Leishmaniose Canine

Ce que vous devez savoir

La Leishmaniose est une maladie parasitaire grave qui peut s'avérer mortelle. La province d'Essaouira est fortement impactée.

 

La Leishmaniose est une maladie causée par des parasites protozoaires du genre Leishmania et transmise par les piqûres de phlébotomes femelles. Plus de 23 espèces de Leishmania ont été décrites, dont la plupart sont zoonotiques (transmis à l'homme). Le parasite Leishmania le plus important à affecter les chiens est L infantum.

 

Les chiens sont le principal hôte réservoir de la Leishmaniose viscérale humaine causée par L infantum, et la maladie est potentiellement mortelle chez les chiens et les humains. Les symptômes de la Leishmaniose ne se manifestent pas forcément aussitôt après que le chien soit infecté mais bien au contraire parfois des mois ou des années après. 

 

Malheureusement, la Leishmaniose canine se traite, mais ne guérit pas. Un chien atteint de Leishmaniose doit toute sa vie faire l'objet d'un suivi régulier chez le vétérinaire. Un traitement adapté permet seulement de ralentir l'évolution de la maladie, mais pas une guérison définitive.

Plusieurs signes peuvent vous aider à détecter si votre chien a été malheureusement infecté par la maladie : 

SIGNES PHYSIQUES - une fatigue généraleainsi qu'un amaigrissement même si l'appétit du chien reste intact.

SIGNES CUTANÉS - une perte de poils importante, particulièrement autour des yeux, et inflammations de la peau. 

SIGNES OCULAIRES - les yeux peuvent être touchés par une conjonctivite qui se traduit par l'œil rouge et des écoulements.

 

D'autres symptômes peuvent être observés comme les griffes qui poussent anormalement vite et le nez qui se met à saigner. 

bottom of page