top of page

Rabies

What you need to know

Once symptoms are present, the disease is fatal, both in animals and in humans.

 

Rabies is a viral disease that affects the central nervous system of mammals (dogs, cats, foxes etc.). It is a zoonotic disease, which means it can be transmitted from animals to humans. 

 

With a mortality rate of almost 100% in humans and animals, rabies remains a global threat. 95% of fatal cases of rabies occur in Africa and Asia.

 

The virus is particularly present in the saliva and brain of infected animals, most often dogs. It is usually transmitted by the bite of a sick animal. 

 

The incubation period can vary from several days to several months. Symptoms may be non-specific at first and include lethargy, fever, vomiting and anorexia. Within a few days, ataxia, muscle weakness, brain dysfunction, difficulty breathing, excessive salivation, aggression and/or self-harm may appear. 

In Morocco

Despite the existence of a national control strategy, rabies continues to spread in the country. Approximately 400 cases of rabies are reported each year. In 9 cases out of 10, the person concerned was contaminated by a rabid dog, which remains the reservoir and the main vector of this disease.

Rabies is a deadly disease if not treated in time. Preventive treatment for human rabies is very effective if administered rapidly after contact with the carrier animal. Contamination of humans is exclusively by an animal in contact with saliva by biting, scratching, licking on excoriated skin or mucous membrane (eye, mouth).

 

The animal can become contagious 15 days before the appearance of the first symptoms of the disease and it remains so until its death. If the animal is alive and shows no symptoms after an observation period of 15 days from the date of exposure (bite or other exposure), it could not have transmitted rabies to the bitten person.

In case of a bite, a scratch or licked wound:

  • It is imperative to clean the wound with soap and water for 15 minutes, then rinse and apply an iodine or chlorine antiseptic to limit the risk of infection.

  • It is then necessary to consult a doctor who will decide on the need for a vaccinal anti-rabies treatment and the administration of specific anti-rabies immunoglobulins, in the absence of preventive vaccination.

bottom of page

top of page

La Rage

Ce que vous devez savoir

Une fois que les symptômes sont présents, la maladie est fatale, aussi bien chez les animaux que chez l’homme.

 

La rage est une maladie virale qui touche le système nerveux central des mammifères (chiens, chats, renards etc.). C'est une maladie zoonotique, c’est-à-dire qu’elle peut se transmettre de l’animal à l’humain. 

 

Avec un taux de mortalité de presque 100 % chez l’humain comme chez l’animal, la rage reste une menace au niveau mondial. 95% des cas mortels de rage se manifestent en Afrique et Asie.

 

Le virus est particulièrement présent dans la salive et le cerveau des animaux infectés, le plus souvent des chiens. Il est généralement transmis par la morsure d’un animal malade. 

 

La période d’incubation peut varier de plusieurs jours à plusieurs mois. Les symptômes peuvent être non spécifiques au premier abord et comprennent la léthargie, la fièvre, les vomissements et l’anorexie. En l’espace de quelques jours, peuvent apparaître ataxie, faiblesse musculaire, dysfonctionnement cérébral, difficultés à respirer, salivation excessive, agressivité et/ou automutilation. 

Au Maroc

Malgré l'existence d'une stratégie nationale de lutte, la rage continue de se propager dans le pays. Environ 400 cas de rage sont signalés chaque année. Dans 9 cas sur 10, la personne concernée a été contaminée par un chien enragé, qui reste le réservoir et le principal vecteur de cette maladie.

La rage est une maladie mortelle si elle n'est pas traitée à temps. Le traitement préventif de la rage humaine est très efficace s'il est administré rapidement après le contact avec l'animal porteur. La contamination de l'homme se fait exclusivement par un animal au contact de la salive par morsure, griffure, léchage sur peau excoriée ou sur muqueuse (œil, bouche).

 

L'animal peut devenir contagieux 15 jours avant l'apparition des premiers symptômes de la maladie et il le reste jusqu'à sa mort. Si l'animal est en vie et ne présente pas de symptômes après une période d'observation de 15 jours à partir de la date d'exposition (morsure ou autre exposition), il n'a pas pu transmettre la rage à la personne mordue.

En cas de morsure, de griffure ou de léchage sur une plaie :

  • Il est impératif d'effectuer un nettoyage de la plaie à l'eau et au savon pendant 15 minutes, puis rinçage et application d'un antiseptique iodé ou chloré sont indispensables pour limiter le risque infectieux.

  • Il faut ensuite consulter un médecin qui décidera de la nécessité d'un traitement antirabique vaccinal et de l'administration d'immunoglobulines spécifiques antirabiques, en l'absence de vaccination préventive.

bottom of page